Monday 24th April, 2017
New Delhi [India], Apr 21 (ANI): Ace Indian sprinter Dutee Chand will lead the 16-member Indian Athletics team to participate in the three-leg Asian Grand Prix 2017 in China.

The first two legs of the tournament will be held in the Chinese cities of Jiaxing and Jinhua on April 24 and 27, respectively, while the third and final leg will be held at Chinese Taipei on April 30, said Athletics Federation of India (AFI) in a media release.

Men's 400m national record holder Mohammed Anas and Poovamma Raju, 2014 Incheon Asian Games women's 400m bronze medallist, will join rest of the team for the last-leg of the competition in Chinese Taipei at a later stage. Both Anas and Poovamma have not got visas for China.


Men: Vidyasagar Siddarajanayaka (100m), Jinson Johnson (400m), Rakesh Babu (Triple Jump), Om Prakash Singh (Shot Put), Neeraj Chopra and Ravinder Singh (javelin).

Women: Dutee Chand and Reena George (100m), Tintu Luka (800m), Neena Varakil (long jump), Jinu Maria (High Jump), Manpreet Kaur (Shot Put).

Coaches: Garry James Calvert, Bibu Mathew, P.T. Usha, Radha Krishnan Nair. (ANI)

More The Asia News

Access More
Loading data...




Sign up for The Asia News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!